الصفحة الرئيسية> حول CCELL> تاريخ CCELL

تاريخ CCELL

تأسست CCELL بموجب قانون ولاية نيويورك في عام 2009

تم إنشاء CCELL بموجب قانون ولاية نيويورك في عام 2009 وتم تعيين أول مجلس في يوليو 2010.

 

  • في أكتوبر 2010 ، بدأت تيريزا أربوليدا في العمل كمحامية عامة (PA) ، وانضمت إليها لاحقًا فانيسا ليونج بصفتها المعينة الثانية للسلطة الفلسطينية. غادرت السيدة ليونغ لتعمل كمعين عمدة دي بلاسيو في لجنة السياسة التعليمية (PEP).

  • نص قانون ولاية نيويورك على أن أولياء أمور الطلاب المسجلين حاليًا في برنامج ثنائي اللغة هم وحدهم المؤهلون للخدمة في CCELL. أسفرت انتخابات مجلس التعليم على مستوى المدينة والمقاطعة (CCEC) في عام 2011 عن ثلاثة أعضاء فقط من CCELL قادرين على الجلوس - اثنان من أعضاء السلطة الفلسطينية المعينين وأحد الوالدين المنتخبين ، مما ترك المجلس بدون نصاب قانوني وغير قادر على إنهاء القرارات.  

  • دعمت بعض المجالس الأخرى بالإضافة إلى المجلس الاستشاري لأولياء الأمور للمستشار (CPAC) لجنة CCELL في دعوتها لتغيير القانون من قبل الهيئة التشريعية لولاية نيويورك. تم تعديل القانون للسماح لأولياء أمور الطلاب الذين تلقوا خدمات ثنائية اللغة خلال العامين الماضيين بالعمل في CCELL. كما واجهت مجالس المقاطعات صعوبة في شغل مقاعد ELL ، تاركة غالبية المجالس بدون ممثل ELL.

 

  • تم تعديل القانون لاحقًا للسماح أيضًا لأولياء أمور طلاب ELL الذين تلقوا خدمات ثنائية اللغة خلال العامين الماضيين بالعمل في مقعد ELL في CECs.

 

  • تم تعديل القانون في عام 2019 للسماح لأولياء أمور طلاب ELL الذين سبق لهم التسجيل في برنامج ثنائي اللغة أن يكونوا مؤهلين للخدمة في مقعد CEC ELL.

 

  • ومع ذلك ، تظل أهلية CCELL كما هي. يجب أن تستمر الجهود لتعديل القانون لتزويد أولياء أمور طلاب ELL الذين سبق لهم التسجيل في برنامج ثنائي اللغة ليكونوا مؤهلين للخدمة في CCELL بالإضافة إلى CECs (انظر قرار CCELL المرفق).

Home > About CCELL > CCELL history

CCELL history

CCELL was established by NY State Law in 2009 and the first council was seated in July 2010.

CCELL was established by NY State Law in 2009 and the first council was seated in July 2010.

 

  • In October 2010 Teresa Arboleda began to serve as a Public Advocate (PA) appointee and was later joined by Vanessa Leung as the second PA appointee. Ms. Leung left to serve as Mayor de Blasio’s appointee to the Panel for Educational Policy (PEP).

  • The NY State Law stated that only parents of students currently enrolled in a bilingual program were eligible to serve on the CCELL. Citywide and District Education Council (CCEC) elections in 2011 resulted in only three CCELL members able to be seated – the two PA appointees and one elected parent, leaving the council without a quorum and unable to finalize decisions. 

  • Some of the other councils as well as the Chancellor’s Parent Advisory Council (CPAC) supported the CCELL in its advocacy of a change in the law by the NY State Legislature. The law was amended to allow parents of students who received bilingual services within the past two years to serve on the CCELL. District councils also had difficulty in filling the ELL seats, leaving the majority of councils without an ELL representative.

 

  • The law was later amended to also allow parents of ELL students who received bilingual services within the past two years to serve on the ELL seat of the CECs.

 

  • The law was amended in 2019 allowing parents of ELL students who have ever been enrolled in a bilingual program to be eligible to serve on the CEC ELL seat.

 

  • However, the eligibility for the CCELL remains the same. Efforts should continue to amend the law to provide for parents of ELL students who have ever been enrolled in a bilingual program to be eligible to serve on the CCELL as well as the CECs (see attached CCELL Resolution).